Society for Multi-Disciplinary Continuing Education and Training through Upskilling

iSAQB Certified Professional for Software Architecture

iSAQB Certified Professional for Software Architecture

Software-Architects implement technical and functional requirements for IT-systems and model these systems with replicable structures flexibly and expandable.



Training to become an iSAQB Certified Professional for Software Architecture comprises all knowledge areas a specialist for software architecture is required to know. The training modules deal with tasks, methodologies, techniques and technologies for the development of software architectures. Participants get to know all aspects that are essential for software architectures. In addition to technological factors, organizational and social factors get addressed. Thus, the tasks of a specialist for software architecture are broadly covered.



In the iSAQB Certified Professional for Software Architecture scheme, the elements »training«, »certification« and »definition of curriculum« are organized independently, which guarantees a maximum of quality and neutrality at each level of the training and education scheme.

Exams for the different educational levels are offered and executed by the neutral certification body Future Network Cert, which has been nominated and authorized by the iSAQB – International Software Architecture Qualification Board ( Future Network Cert fulfills and implements the certification rules and processes of the iSAQB.


iSAQB® Certified Professional for Software Architecture –
Foundation Level

Examination Regulations

The exam is a multiple-choice test, which can either be taken subsequent to a training course or at individually determined exam dates. However, attendance of a three or four day training course is highly recommended. The certification body notifies the examinee about the exam result in writing and mails the certificate to the examinee’s home address.



Basic concepts of software architectures

Software architecture, structure, building blocks/components, interfaces, relationships, cross-cutting concerns/aspects, architecture objectives, software architects and their responsibilities, tasks and required skills, non-functional and functional requirements of systems, constraints, influencing factors, types of IT systems (embedded systems, real-time systems, information systems etc)


Specification and communication of software architectures

Views, structures, (technical) concepts, documentation, communication, description, meta structures for description and communication, building blocks, building-block view, run-time view, deployment view, node; channel, deployment units, mapping building blocks onto deployment units, description of interfaces


Design and development of software architectures

Design, design approach, design decision, views, technical and crosscutting concepts, architectural patterns, design principles, domain-related and technical architectures, model-based design, iterative/incremental design, domain-driven design, top-down and bottom-up approaches, pattern-languages, stereotypes, tools-and-material-approach.


Software architectures and quality

Quality, quality attributes, DIN/ISO 9126 resp. 25010; ATAM, scenarios, quality tree, compromises (when implementing quality attributes), evaluation of software architectures (qualitative and quantitative)


Tools for software architects

Modelling tools, static analysis tools, dynamic analysis tools, generation tools, requirements- management tools, build systems/tools, configuration management tools


Examination Fees

These are:

€ 250,– (+ 20 % VAT) in case of exam subsequent to training, including issuance and mailing of the certificate.

€ 300,– (+ 20 % VAT) in case of exam without training course, including issuance and mailing of the exam.

Reduced examination fees apply to University and College (e.g. Fachhochschule) students.

The foundation level certificate is valid without limit of time. Certificates are valid internationally.


iSAQB® Certified Professional for Software Architecture –
Advanced Level

The Advanced Level deepens the foundation level topics. Developed according to iSAQB’s specification, this training scheme follows a modular structure and requires successful trainees to demonstrate comprehensive knowledge and skills. Holders of the CPSA-A will be able to:


·  Design medium-sized to large IT systems independently and in a methodologically sound manner

·  Assume technical and content-related responsibility within IT systems of medium to high criticality

· Plan, design and document appropriate measures to meet non-functional requirements

· Accompany development teams in the process of implementing these measures

· Manage and direct architecture-related communication processes within medium-sized to large


Examination Fee:

€ 1.700,– (+ 20 % VAT) in case of exam subsequent to training, including issuance and mailing of the certificate.

Unfortunately the Advanced Level exam can only be taken in German. The English examination is in preparation.


The Expert Level addresses experienced, professional software architects and consists of a series of modules with different specialized topics. A Certified Professional for Software Architecture Expert Level Block, which will requires the foundation and advanced level certificate, is in the planning stage.